Walking and Blogging, Dallas, Texas October 2014

I was in Dallas a couple of weeks ago to get some shots of the State Fair and do some business. On my last evening there, I went out walking on the Katy Trail, a wonderful green space that also offers great views of the city. About two and a half miles in I saw what used to be known as Loews Anatole Hotel and memories of the Buddy Music Awards show there in the mid-Eighties stopped me in my tracks. The show featured The Fabulous Thunderbirds, Joe Ely, and Stevie Ray Vaughan: and everyone was pretty much crazy messed up, including me. But it hit me how long ago that was, and how much things have changed, and how many are gone. What a blessing to have been there and documented all that incredible music. I have so many memories of that particular show-most of which will remain private-except for the images. This shot of Jimmie and Stevie Ray onstage shows some of the differences the brothers have in style, both visually and musically. Jimmie in his suit and tie and ultracool with his maple neck Strat, Stevie bold and flashy with his Hamiltone and kimono.

Which brings me to: believe it or not, no one seems to want to publish a book of photographs of Stevie Ray Vaughan, his musical friends, influences, and followers, and I just have to get it out! I will be starting a campaign to do so very soon, and I hope anyone who likes my work or feels such a book should be published will support me. I’m going to have all kinds of cool rewards and perks from a couple dollars up to…. In the mean time please look at my online only gallery, where I’m currently having the 30th Anniversary 30% off Sale, so you’ll get a good idea of what I can do: http://www.theheightsgallery.com

And if you want to see a current Kickstarter campaign for a really worthy product, please check out:
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1294454178/the-drifter, Mike Flanigin’s album project.

Stevie Ray Vaughan and Jimmie Vaughan, Dallas, 1985

Stevie Ray Vaughan and Jimmie Vaughan, Dallas, 1985

Leave a Reply

