More on the Zeiss 35mm Loxia and 85mm Batis

I had the opportunity to work with two of my favorite Zeiss lens again thanks to the generosity of Nicole Balle. I took the 35mm Loxia and the 85mm Batis to some great Texas music shows and again was blown away by them. I used the 35mm more than the 85mm, and it’s size, finish and maximum aperture of f2 certainly reminded me of another famous German brand’s famous 35mm–at a fraction of the cost and every bit of the image quality. In fact, I like the Loxia more than the Summicron, I have to just say it! The 3D look, the T* coating–everything. These companies have battled each other since the old microscope days and Zeiss is winning. Using the two lenses in poor lighting, often wide open really tested their meddle and they are both amazing. I used them on the Sony a7II and NEX-7  their weight and balance worked beautifully on the mirrorless cameras. Full frame or 1.5 ratio, they’re great focal lengths for either Sony, and convenient to get that extra reach putting the 85mm on the NEX-7.  I can’t say enough about these two, and I will be buying them soon. I should mention that Zeiss is sponsoring my series of print exhibitions entitled “Absolute Music” January 7 in Houston at Rockefellers and February 10 in Austin upstairs at Antone’s as well as the exhibition catalog for the shows, and there will be several images taken with the lenses in all three. Great work, Zeiss–thank you again! See the photos here, although they’re jpegs I think they represent the 35mm f2 Loxia and the 85mm f1.8 Batis well. Come to my shows to see what those lenses can really do.

excellentplayingshotcc-1-of-1

Charley Crockett, Loxia 35mm

35mmccsideviewwdane-1-of-1

Charley Crockett, Loxia 35mm

35mmccharmonywidershot2-1-of-1

Charley Crockett, Loxia 35mm

cooltyonstage-1-of-1

Ty Taylor of Vintage Trouble, 85mm Batis

verytightgretsch-1-of-1

Nalle Colt of Vintage Trouble,  85mm Batis

verytightgretschevenmore-1-of-1

Nalle Colt of Vintage Trouble,  85mm Batis

halfshadowonface-1-of-1-copy

Gary Clark Jr at the Paramount in Austin, 85mm Batis

reallyniceianplayingmartin-1-of-1

Ian Moore, 85mm Batis

Leave a Reply

